Marlin McKay

Artist in Residence and Assistant Professor of Music College of Humanities and Social Sciences School of the Humanities and Performing Arts
Bradford HallRoom 113400 East Main St.Frankfort, KY 40601(502) 597-6601


Marlin McKay, trumpet, is a jazz recording artist who received his Masters of Music degree in Jazz Studies from the Jacob’s School of Music at Indiana University and his Bachelor of Music degree in Jazz Studies.  His primary teachers have been, Dr. David Baker, Joey Tartell, Dr. Robert Kase, and Dr. Alan Wenger.

While completing his Master’s Degree at Indiana University’s Jacobs School of Music as an associate instructor to, Distinguished Professor of Jazz Emeritus, Dr. David Baker, he garnered a reputation for delivering captivating solos as a member of the critically acclaimed Baker Band.  He has competed and/or been a participant of the Betty Carter Jazz Ahead Residency (2006), The Stean’s Institute for Young Artist (2006) and the National Trumpet Competition (2009) where he placed First Runner Up.

Marlin McKay joined the music faculty at Kentucky State University in 2015 as an Artist in Residence and serves as Assistant Professor of Music – High Brass. He previously held a lecturer position at Indiana State University and was an Associate Instructor of Jazz and Commercial music at Indiana University’s Jacobs School of Music and the African American Arts Institute respectively for three years. McKay is a dedicated teacher and has maintained extensive private studios in the Texas (TX), Wisconsin (WI), and Bloomington (IN) areas.

An active performer, recording artist, clinician/adjudicator, McKay has appeared at jazz clubs and music festivals throughout the U.S. and was recently invited to teach and perform in Costa Rica as part of a cultural exchange collaboration with Eastern Kentucky University. He has recorded two albums under his own name for the Nostalgic Records recording label: Deep in the Cosmos and his new sophomore release, The Look, featuring Stefon Harris, Bobby Floyd, Anthony Wonsey, Dezron Douglas, Clif Wallace, Mikel Avery, Mitch Shiner, and Rob Dixon.