For the first time, Kentucky State University will host the Bluegrass Higher Education Consortium Academic Leadership Academy Friday, April 13.

Kentucky State is one of 12 institutions that formed the Bluegrass Higher Education Consortium (BHEC) in 2012.

The Academic Leadership Academy (ALA) is an initiative of the 12 presidents that make up the executive committee of BHEC to create leaders among the 12 institutions that make up the consortium that can strategically lead the next generation of learners.

Kentucky State University President M. Christopher Brown II is the luncheon keynote speaker for the event. President Brown will present “Developing Strong Academic Leaders,” followed by a question-and-answer session.

Dr. A. Christopher Hayden, acting dean for the College of Professional Studies and associate professor in criminal justice, will present “Mid-level Management at Our Universities” with deans from Eastern Kentucky University and Midway University.

Other topics will include issues and challenges regarding higher education leadership, budgeting 101 and managing conflict.

Each of the 12 consortium institutions can select up to five fellows to participate in the ALA. Representing Kentucky State University in this cohort is Dr. Erin Gilliam, Duane Wright, Tanya Carr, Mario Radford and Rachelle Johnson.

The ALA class of 2018 will convene a second time Thursday, Oct. 18 at Georgetown College.

Member institutions include Kentucky State, Asbury University, Berea College, Bluegrass Community and Technical College, Centre College, Eastern Kentucky University, Georgetown College, Midway University, Morehead State University, Sullivan University, Transylvania University and the University of Kentucky.