A special Veterans Day assembly was held Thursday, Nov. 9 at Kentucky State University to pay homage to all military members.

De’Marcus Hopson, military student services coordinator/veterans affairs liaison, spoke on the occasion.

“Veterans Day is a time to reflect on those who have served this great country,” Hopson said.

Emma Metcalf, the Lexington VA medical center director, recognized the importance of female veterans, in her presentation titled “What is a Shero?” Metcalf said there are over 24,000 she-roes in the Commonwealth of Kentucky. She thanked all veterans for their service.

Will Sanders, a student at Kentucky State, set the POW table during a ceremony honoring and remembering prisoners of war and those missing in action. A table, tablecloth, red rose in a vase, red ribbon, candle, slice of lemon, salt, an inverted glass and empty chair each served as symbols during the ceremony.

Latasia Jones, a student at Kentucky State, moderated a panel with three veterans. Each shared the benefits they received from service, such as discipline and selflessness, and discussed the various branches of the military.

Kentucky State University veterans were honored by the Frankfort/Lexington chapter of The Links, Incorporated. Veterans currently working at or attending Kentucky State were presented with white roses.

We salute our Kentucky State University veterans and thank them for their service: Jordan Abner, Allen Alvarez, Deshawn Dante Anderson, Isaai Arnold, Mariah Bailey, Michale Ball, Patreice Bass, David Bentley, Keeasa Benton, Lamont Brown, Najee Brown, Adam Cecil, Lynn Cheatham, Emily Damico, Jerry Davis, Donavis Duncan, Gwyllyn Edwards, James Ezell, Ralph Foster, Zachary Gaines, Linda Godfrey, Andrew Hewitt, Eboni Hobbs, Alex Hobbs, Ashley Hopson, De’Marcus Hopson, Donnie Hopson, Marcus Hopson, Derek Hovey, Terrell Howard, Pauline Jackson, Bradley Jenkins, Lisa Lang, Christina Leath, Patrice Lugo, Christopher Martin, Becky McCoy, James Melton, Elijah Mills, Nocomis Minor, Micah Morton, Diane Murphy, Charles Nichols, Derek Patterson, Darryl Pinto, Donald Poe, Randall Pritchett, Stevon Quincy, Christopher Randolph, Patrick Raymond, Jacobi Reed, Aisa Richardson, Will Sanders, Leron Simmons, Jamie Simmons, Joshua Smith, Krystal Smith, Sean Sparks, Raven Starks, Eric Taylor, Tre’Lique Tinker-Martin, James Thompson, Daphne Tyson, Patricia Wash, Raymond Weatherspoon, Charles Weibel, Vincent Wideman, Mitchell Wilson, Samuel Woodson, Jalyn Works and Charles Yeast.