Kentucky State University held the 54th-annual Honors Convocation on Thursday, April 6 in Bradford Hall Auditorium.

KSU Interim President Dr. Aaron Thompson was the keynote speaker. He commended the scholars for their persistence in their academic pursuits, noting that each student faced adversity and yet still showed superior academic performance.

“I tell people all the time: knowledge is far more than just the grade you get. It’s the ability to use that learning and know that you’re not at your capacity yet,” Thompson said. “It’s the ability to embrace higher education. It’s the ability to know how to think critically.”

Thompson presented President’s Award to full-time freshman, sophomore, junior and senior with 4.0-grade point averages. Forty students received the President’s Award this year.

Frankfort Mayor William May presented the Mayor’s Citizenship Award to KSU Student Regent and Student Government President and Ralph Williams.

JC Campbell presented Chicago alumni chapter scholarships, while Dr. Patricia Pearson presented an award from the Beta Upsilon Omega Chapter of Alpha Kappa Alpha.

The K-List Entertainment Group, consisting of KSU alumni Katrisha Waldridge, William Rogers, Kobie Wilkerson and Jason Fullman, presented a check for $3,000 for the Benjamin F. Shobe Endowment.

KSU Interim Provost Dr. Candice Love Jackson presented the inaugural Gus and Gertrude Ridgel Innovation and Service Award to Dr. Cynthia Shelton.

Other highlights included a musical selection from the Kentucky State University Opera Theatre Workshop, the Kentucky State University Concert Choir and a special presentation from the UNITY Dance Troupe.

Departmental honors and awards were also acknowledged, as well as members of the academic honor roll and the dean’s list.

View photos from the event, below

2017 KSU Honors Convocation