Frankfort, Ky.—Following a year of notable accomplishments by the Kentucky State University football program, head coach John L. Smith was named the SIAC Coach of the Year on Friday.

In his first season, Smith led Kentucky State to the West division title with a 3-1 record in SIAC divisional games. The Thorobreds defeated nationally-ranked Tuskegee, 10-9 on the road on Oct. 22. KSU also took down the reigning SIAC football champions, Miles College 28-24 on Oct. 15. Earlier in the season, KSU defeated Fort Valley State 28-10 at Wildcat Stadium. The Thorobreds will meet Fort Valley State in the championship game on Nov. 12 at 7 p.m in Montgomery, Ala. at the Cramton Bowl.

Along with the Coach of the Year selection, quarterback Jules St. Ge was named the SIAC Freshman of the Year. The 6’1 freshman from Lakeland, Fla. tallied 896 yards of total offense, while, recording six touchdowns. His best game of the season came against Fort Valley State where he completed 10-of-17 passes for 194 yards and a touchdown.

Six other Thorobreds were tabbed for OVC honors. Senior running back Reginal Harris and sophomore offensive lineman Marcus Campbell Jr. were selected to the SIAC All-Conference Second Team on the offensive side of the ball. On the other side senior linebacker Travon Spencer, senior defensive back Vincent Edwards Jr., and junior defensive lineman Rodriguez Jones were named to the SIAC-All-Conference Second Team for defense. On special teams senior kicker Bill Rose was also named to Second Team.