Kentucky State University will award candidates for graduation their associate, bachelor’s and master’s degrees at its 125th Commencement Convocation, beginning at 9 a.m. Saturday, May 10, in the Frankfort Convention Center, 405 Mero St., Frankfort.

The procession for faculty, staff, platform guests and graduates will begin at 8:45 a.m. The doors to the Convention Center will close promptly at 8:30 a.m. for the procession. They will reopen after the platform guests and graduates are seated.

Dr. George Cooper, executive director of the White House Initiative on Historically Black Colleges and Universities, will be the commencement speaker. Cooper was a senior fellow with the American Association of State Colleges and Universities, where he reviewed key federal legislative initiatives of significance to HBCUs. Previously, he served four years as the 10th president of South Carolina State University. While president, he oversaw significant growth in research grants and contracts and funds raised for the university.

Dr. Mary Smith Stowe, who was the 11th and first female president of Kentucky State University, will receive an honorary doctorate in public service. Arnita Young Boswell, who was an African American activist and educator in Detroit will also be awarded the honorary doctorate in public service posthumously.

KSU will recognize the members of the 1964 graduating class, who will celebrate their 50th reunion. The Golden Anniversary class will have a special section of prominence at the ceremony.

The School of Nursing Pinning Ceremony will be at 6 p.m. Friday, May 9, in the Bradford Hall Carl H. Smith Auditorium.

The Spring Graduate Luncheon will be held at 11:30 a.m. Thursday, May 8, in the Student Center Ballroom for prospective graduates. The luncheon speaker will be Ambassador Pamela E. Bridgewater who has enjoyed a celebrated career as a U.S. foreign service officer.