Kentucky State University has entered into a partnership agreement with the Army Reserve Officers Training Corps (ROTC) program at the University of Kentucky.  Currently only AMS 102 and AMS 103 are offered on the KSU campus; all other Military Science classes are taught at the University of Kentucky, Lexington, Kentucky.  Students who wish to participate in the ROTC program receive ROTC scholarship assistance, become commissioned as second lieutenants in the United States Army, and may attend the Military Science program at the University of Kentucky through this partnership agreement.  Participating students must provide their own transportation to the University of Kentucky for Military Science classes that are not taught on the KSU campus as well as other ROTC activities.

The Military Science Program is open to both men and women and follows a general military science curriculum.  Three- and two-year ROTC scholarships are available on an equally competitive basis to qualified freshmen and sophomores.  These scholarships pay all tuition and required fees up to $8,000 or 80% of the combined total of tuition and required fees for costs over $8,000.  The scholarship students also receive a $100 monthly stipend.  A military obligation is incurred in exchange for the scholarship funds.  Minimum courses required and credit hours for each are listed in the course description section of this Bulletin under the Army Military Studies (AMS) course prefix.

Students interested in the Army ROTC Program should contact the Professor of Military Science, University of Kentucky, Lexington, KY 40506 (telephone 859-257-6865) for further information.

Air Force ROTC

Kentucky State University, in cooperation with the Air Force Reserve Officers Training Corps (Air Force ROTC) detachment at the University of Kentucky, offers a two-, three-, or four-year Air Force ROTC program.  These programs allow qualified students an opportunity to earn commissions as officers in active duty in the U.S. Air Force while completing the requirement for a degree in their chosen field.  The Air Force ROTC courses are offered on the campus of the University of Kentucky.  Students are responsible for their own transportation.  Students attend classes at the University of Kentucky (UK) while enrolling for all other courses at Kentucky State University.  Interested students should contact the AFROTC office at UK at (606) 257-7115 for enrollment information.

Upon graduation from KSU and completion of either the two-, three-, or four-year Air Force ROTC program, students are commissioned as active-duty second lieutenants in the United States Air Force.  Scholarships are available to qualified students who enroll in the Air Force ROTC program.  These scholarships provide full payment of tuition, laboratory fees, an allowance for books, and a tax-free monthly subsistence allowance.